sbc backfire thru carb - stalled and now wont start - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2018, 10:55 AM
TRAMsportation.com

Wiki Edits: 0

sbc backfire thru carb - stalled and now wont start

Good morning. I have an old bread truck that I converted into a party bus, last summer I swapped the motor (an 82) for and 84 SBC. I was told that the motor came from a hot rod but that it was put back to stock or me. I bought the motor for $500, and then paid a friend friend of a friend of a friend to install it for $500. Shortly after, I had the Edelbrock carburetor rebuilt. And I had the transmission rebuilt.

I'm not a mechanic, but I like to solve problems when I can, because I'm also not a millionaire! The carb has recently started backfiring, so I have been trying to adjust air on the two front screws based on my YouTube university degree in carb and motor repair.

Yesterday the motor ceased to start after backfire and stalling on the street. A friendly gentleman hooked a chain to my party bus and got me off the main road, but I still can't get this bus to start!

I'm going to grab some basic supplies… Carb cleaner, air filter, fuel filter, maybe plugs as well and head back to the truck now. If anybody can give me some insight, I will greatly appreciate it!! Why the backfire, why it won't start?

~Sara
heres my bus...***************m

Advertisement

Last edited by Crosley; 07-28-2018 at 11:02 AM. Reason: No advertise on forums unless paid vendor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-29-2018, 10:10 AM

Last journal entry: Project change