Spark Knock (One Cylinder?) - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2019, 07:10 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Spark Knock (One Cylinder?)

I have a 2.7 liter 4 banger with TBI injection.
The last two or three times I've driven I've encountered spark knock when in 4th gear under load. This is a new problem that I have not encountered previously.

I topped off the tank with Sunoco 93 Octane, and also dialed back the timing via EBL Flash about 10% in the RPM range where I'm hearing the knock. However neither of these things seemed to resolve the problem.

I pulled the plugs last night and found 3 of the 4 looked pretty normal and one appeared to show signs of detonation.

I have a 180 degree thermostat and operating temperature is normal. There is no EGR.

Not sure if this is significant or not, but I've taken a few short drives (around 10 minutes) and don't hear the knock. It seems like it manifests only on longer drives 15 minutes or longer.

Why would only 1 plug show signs of knock?? (Its TBI so there is only 1 fuel injector)

I plan on going down one heat range on my plugs, but other than that, is there something else I should look for?? As mentioned this is a new problem, so not sure why the plug change would be needed.

Advertisement

Last edited by edfiero; 07-08-2019 at 07:16 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-08-2019, 07:59 AM
More for Less Racer

Thanked 3,134 Times in 2,629 Posts
Oil getting past rings or valve guides could do it. Oil in the combustion chamber lowers the octane rating of the fuel.

Carbon or coked up oil on surfaces in the chamber can glow and cause preignition..