Tachometer trouble - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2016, 06:52 PM
EragonSuperH's Avatar
I invent stupid usernames
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: The Cornhusker State
Age: 21
Posts: 352
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 143
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Tachometer trouble

The tachometer I put on my 1978 GMC truck is acting up. When the truck is idling, the tach will be pegged out, then when I rev the truck up, it will drop down to zero RPM on the tach, then at highway speed (around 60 MPH), it will say somewhere around double the RPM it should be running.

Tach is Equus model 6086 and it's not a problem with the tach as it's the second one that's done this. Switch is set to 8 cylinders, and as far as I can tell all of the wires are connected properly. It could be that the ground wire is connected to the valve cover, but I doubt it.
Engine is a small block 350 with HEI ignition.

Any thoughts or comments?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2016, 10:34 PM
4 Jaw Chuck's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 51
Posts: 6,620
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 190
Thanked 574 Times in 425 Posts
Low quality tach, unknown ground wiring.

Start with the ground.
__________________
“She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts, kid. I've made a lot of special modifications myself.”

— Han Solo
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-10-2016, 07:21 AM
64nailhead's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 3,857
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,298
Thanked 967 Times in 801 Posts
The ground wire needs to be located on a clean ground and not near any of the plug wires or coil wires (if your HEI is a coil in cap HEI, then this won't be an issue.) The same consideration needs to be given to the tach signal wire.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-10-2016, 10:15 AM
Old(s) Fart
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,380
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 120
Thanked 627 Times in 542 Posts
Troubleshooting 101:

Temporarily connect the tach to a different engine and see if it works properly or not. This immediately tells you if the problem is the tach (or associated installation) or the vehicle it's installed on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to joe_padavano For This Useful Post:
64nailhead (01-10-2016)
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-10-2016, 04:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In The Garage
Posts: 348
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Are you sure the wiring is correct?
Sounds like you have the signal and ground wires reversed.
Does the tach light work normally?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2016, 06:15 PM
EragonSuperH's Avatar
I invent stupid usernames
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: The Cornhusker State
Age: 21
Posts: 352
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 143
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runnin'OnEmpty View Post
Are you sure the wiring is correct?
Sounds like you have the signal and ground wires reversed.
Does the tach light work normally?
Yes the light works perfectly fine. The funny thing is, the tach will actually sometimes work in a certain rpm range.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2016, 06:16 PM
EragonSuperH's Avatar
I invent stupid usernames
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: The Cornhusker State
Age: 21
Posts: 352
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 143
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 64nailhead View Post
The ground wire needs to be located on a clean ground and not near any of the plug wires or coil wires (if your HEI is a coil in cap HEI, then this won't be an issue.) The same consideration needs to be given to the tach signal wire.
I will check this out. I had it grounded inside the cab, and to the valve cover, with no difference.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2016, 06:47 PM
rdobbs77's Avatar
Huge Guns N Roses Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Nashville
Age: 42
Posts: 609
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 220
Thanked 103 Times in 85 Posts
Are you running MSD?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2016, 04:55 PM
EragonSuperH's Avatar
I invent stupid usernames
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: The Cornhusker State
Age: 21
Posts: 352
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 143
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Are you running MSD?
Nope. Stock GM HEI coil in cap distributor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2016, 08:35 PM
EragonSuperH's Avatar
I invent stupid usernames
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: The Cornhusker State
Age: 21
Posts: 352
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 143
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hcompton View Post
Is this an after market tach. Do you have it in v8 mode and not 4 or 6 cylinder mode. Most can support all three and will act up if not in v8 setup.
Yep it's aftermarket, and yes it's set to 8 cylinders as I said before. This is really baffling, but it's too cold to work on it now. You're right that it can support all three, I made very sure of that
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Tags
1978, 350, not working, sbc, tachometer

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tachometer Charlie's 33 Ford Electrical 6 01-14-2014 08:50 PM
tachometer Larry Buckner Electrical 2 11-04-2008 03:48 PM
Tachometer viking Electrical 4 09-11-2007 09:10 PM
tachometer douhavit Electrical 3 06-09-2004 09:08 PM
tachometer grapro Electrical 3 05-29-2004 11:23 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.