tbi to carb fuel lines, need advice please. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2015, 10:50 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

tbi to carb fuel lines, need advice please.

Hello all, as the title says, I'm having a few issues. I have a 1990 454ss and the poor engine has had enough so that being said I built a new one, just had it dynoed today! Anyways, it's an early 80s 454 and carbureted. I'm gonna be running a mechanical fuel pump, I'm wondering if I could use the existing pressure line and return line that originally went into the rear of the tbi throttle body but how I could make that work with the mechanical fuel pump. Thanks for any suggestions, this is my first build.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-27-2015, 06:57 AM

Inorder to use the TBI lines you'll need to get the correct fittings for them. I assume they have the step at the end that requires an o-ring. If that's the case, then you'll need to adapt them at your pump and/or regulator. I have done exactly what you're trying to do. but was for an EFI setup. I found a place that can make just about any line and has about every fitting available. It was pretty easy once I found someone to make them.

What are you planning to do with the in tank pump? I think that you'll have to either run it to a regualtor or remove it.
Old 06-27-2015, 07:36 AM

Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Wiki Edits: 31

run a new line from the filter to the carb. parts stores sell repair sections that fit the filter ends.

Old 06-27-2015, 08:38 AM
The mobile view is crap

Why not just use the in tank pump and regulate the fuel. The return line is already there