torque converter empty on start up - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2019, 08:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: northern calif.
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
torque converter empty on start up

Hi everyone Well got the fittings taken care of now I'm bending the coolant lines out of the hardest steel tubing known to man. Here's the question I don't be-leave I added fluid to the converter many people say its not a problem just put in 4 or 5 qts and start it . Question is as long as there is nowhere for the fluid to leak out why not 8 or 9 qts wouldn't it fill the converter sooner?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2019, 09:23 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Global Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: 1962 Morris Minor 1000
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 9,566
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 1,267
Thanked 359 Times in 320 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy411 View Post
Hi everyone Well got the fittings taken care of now I'm bending the coolant lines out of the hardest steel tubing known to man. Here's the question I don't be-leave I added fluid to the converter many people say its not a problem just put in 4 or 5 qts and start it . Question is as long as there is nowhere for the fluid to leak out why not 8 or 9 qts wouldn't it fill the converter sooner?
No ...

is this a GM T-350 transmission?

Install 4 or 5 qts... Start the engine. Add 4 qts more. Check fluid level. If possible, check the transmission for engagement into gear with brake Applied.

The transmission starts to fill the converter immediately with the engine running
__________________
Dont worry how old you are... it is the mileage on your body that adds up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2019, 11:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: northern calif.
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Yes T-350 So the fluid wont run into the converter just from gravity if its filled past the center of the torque converter? Just curious I will do it the way you recommend looks like you have many credentials Thanks for the advice.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2019, 12:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,977
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 215
Thanked 407 Times in 332 Posts
Empty your fluid into a container like below then put your plug back in. https://m.autozone.com/shop-and-gara...RoCzwMQAvD_BwE



Pour in a gallon of new fluid in (5 quarts) giving you an empty container.

A cheap hand pump like below allows you to easily drain the fluid from the catch container into the newly empied gallon container without spills and allows you to easily stop at that 5qt mark. Much better then trying to lift 8+ quarts of fluid.
https://www.harborfreight.com/Multi-...ump-63144.html


Block the wheels and start the car putting it in netural.

While the engine is running warming up pour the remaining(3-5qts) old transmission fluid into the oil/coolant bottle . Look at the side and it will give you the amount in quarts to add to that transmission to top it off.

If this is a rebuild simply write down this number including torque converter, line, and radiatior amounts being added to the 2nd(sometimes 3rd) gallon container.

Now you know the exact amount to pour in.

I fill it up to a quart low then take a short drive to rock things around before checking the level on a flat surface and topping it off. This gets me within 1/2 quart every time.

Then recycle your fluid, clean your containers and pump for the next fluid change.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2019, 07:33 AM
55 Tony's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Cocke County, TN
Posts: 1,064
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 134
Thanked 182 Times in 162 Posts
Think of it about the same as if you changed the engine oil and didn't fill the new filter with oil (but not really as bad as that). Most of us feel better that it gets oil quicker, but it's not the end of the world if you didn't fill it first.


And as far as overfilling to fill the converter ... I don't think it would work. I can't imagine how many extra gallons of fluid it would take.


I did just think of something. The pressure or feed line to the cooler comes almost straight out of the converter, so it may be possible to pump fluid backwards into the converter through that line? But I've never heard of anyone doing it. The wrong line will just put fluid in the trans the same as adding it normally so you need to know which line to use. Still thinking weird idea's here ... if you leave the fluid in the freezer/refrigerator before pumping it in, you will be able to feel the converter getting cold if it is really working. I may be way off with this idea, it just came to me and I tend to think up strange idea's.
__________________
Young enough to learn ... too old to remember.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2019, 10:24 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: northern calif.
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Resolved

I'm going to follow the advice starting out with 5 qts and not worry about it. I kinked the first line when I was almost done with it but I have plenty of line to try again. Here's a pic. of the beast.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1017.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	447513  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to tommy411 For This Useful Post:
Excellenceautosoluti (09-10-2019)
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2019, 01:06 PM
55 Tony's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Cocke County, TN
Posts: 1,064
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 134
Thanked 182 Times in 162 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy411 View Post
I'm going to follow the advice starting out with 5 qts and not worry about it. I kinked the first line when I was almost done with it but I have plenty of line to try again. Here's a pic. of the beast.

I can't bend steel line worth a crap without a high end bending tool,which I don't have. I had a real mess with hose to steel line to hose. It looked like crap and leaked also. When I got a new radiator recently I ordered a 25' roll of NiCopp line and bent it all by hand.
__________________
Young enough to learn ... too old to remember.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-10-2019, 01:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: northern calif.
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I read the tubing reviews and several people said it bent easy well it's about the same as stainless I wanted NiCopp but had forgotten what it was called. I ruined another pc. but it was still long enough for the shorter of the two. I've almost got it bent successfully.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.