What sanding tools to get? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans Advertise
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2017, 07:31 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

What sanding tools to get?

Hi,

I'm about to start the final bodywork phase of my 1968 Camaro project. I've done bodywork before on a couple projects so I've got some experience fixing body panels and using filler.

I'm looking to compose a set of tools that will let me work as efficiently as possible. I want to do it myself but spare time is limited. And I'm the sort to call it "good enough" once I start running out of time. So I'd like to have the right tools available so that I can get it as perfect as possible before I run out of time. And by run out of time, I mean run out of patience

Here is what I'm thinking so far:

DA Sander - Hutchins 3500
https://www.amazon.com/Hutchins-3500.../dp/B000WZYIFG

Sanding Blocks - Dynablocks (24 inch and a set of assorted sizes)
https://www.amazon.com/Dura-Block-AF...inch+durablock
https://www.amazon.com/Dura-Block-AF...BKDNA5W5TPMH0W

Sanding Blocks - 6 inch aluminum block with a wooden handle
(I've read that this would be good to have for final blocking but I am unable to find it online)

Anything else I'd need? I know that I need to source quality sandpaper. Any suggestions on that?

Also, I believe I can use the DA sander for bodywork as well as final cut & buff of the clear. Is that right?

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Sal

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-03-2017, 06:50 AM
Grand Prix User

Last journal entry: Last look

Thanked 5,454 Times in 3,209 Posts