Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to the site. I recently picked up a 1939 plymouth out of a farmers field. Has no tires or axles. Frame and floors look good and only one bullet hole in the glass. No motor or transmission. Looking to build this up. I picked up a 1977 mustang ghia as i had read a little about mustang ii front ends. I have never done this type of swap before. Looking for some pointers or a starting point on this swap. Was thinking of stubbing it but really not sure of how that works with such drastic differences in frame setups.

·
Registered
5,739 Posts
my son has a 36 coupe that had the tube front axle I think your 39 would have the same frame design, you can cut out the M II front crosmember and swap it in. the weldeer series company makes weld it your self swap kits and has excellent directions on installing a M II front end, their directions will help if installing a stock M II crosmember https://assets.adobe.com/public/189346d8-00f3-41e6-4c58-dc618a54dd23

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the help. Only issue i may have is establishing axle centerlines since there is no axles on the car at this point. Im at work right now so havent had a chance to read the full instruction but any info helps. Thanks again.

·
Registered
5,456 Posts
Centrelines not hard to do.
Jack stands, a level clean floor, some chalk, plumb bobs, tape measure and mock it up on the floor.
You should find some books.
Chassis fab, how to’s like how to build a hot rod etc.
Where in the great land of the Canuck do you live?

·
Registered
5,456 Posts
I lived everywhere in Alberta except Edmonton. Used to drive there for a little racing. 50 years of 40 below so I retired to the coast.
Like I said.
Get some books.
Should be some at any speed shop.

·
Registered
5,739 Posts