Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1955 F100 with a 351 engine. Has anyone seen any combo like this and what do you know about it?

I am new to this so I don't even know- is this okay for a 55 to have a newer engine and does this effect the resale value?

And also, I have no idea how to find out the actual mileage of this engine, so is that important if I go to sell it? I always see mileage online for other hot rods, so not sure what to do if I cannot know that.

Thank you in advance for any help/knowledge you can provide.

·
Registered
6,061 Posts
Any modern motor could be an improvement. If it’s installed right. There’s lots of hackers out there. It could have been cut up to install the motor.
Post some pics of it.

·
Registered
4,429 Posts
Yes its possible to swap out a FE for a 351.

Lets start with pictures of the engine, transmission, and rearend to get an idea what were dealing with.

Just cause a engine is old doesn't mean its junk. Im not going to tell you to just rebuild something you may want to simply flip if it runs good. I also would not expect anything from the 50's to ride like something modern.

Just be honest about what you know and what you dont when selling it. Sell it as is of course.

The only issue that may come up is registration especially if you never had a title. Having a title makes things much simplier. Easier in some states then others.

·
Registered
190 Posts