Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 327/300 with camel hump heads out of a 62 impala and it is in need of a rebuild badly. I just need new pistons and a little better then stock cam. I also want to get a little more then 300(feels like 200) out of it, 350 would be enough for me. I was thinking about going with newer higher compression style pistons like Keith Black, or speedpro. And some new style heads like Iron dart or edelbrock. Now correct me if i am worng but will 72cc heads will make my compression go down right? Any recomendations on either would help. Yes i am new to this

·
Registered
384 Posts
Assuming that those camel humps are 64cc, then yes, 72cc would lower the compression. But, with aftermarket heads and a better than stock cam, you won't need to raise the compression to hit 350 ponies.

·
Member# 3287
2,625 Posts
The 327 300hp factory rating in '62 was "inflated" by today's standards. Some say about 20%. It was also running 10.5:1 compression.

If the engine is in poor condition now, it probably does feel like 200hp...or less.

·
King of my Man-cave.
2,896 Posts
Those heads will probably measure out to about 61CCs after a valve job and resurfacing. With a flat-top piston, you will net about 9:1 with a .039" compressed gasket. A stee shim gasket will give you about a half a point more. Using a dome will get you some more compression, but the benefits from that will be negated by interrupted flame travel. If you need more compression, you can mill the heads up to .025" for more compression and not have to monkey with the intake manifold.

tom

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
MI2600 said:
The 327 300hp factory rating in '62 was "inflated" by today's standards. Some say about 20%. It was also running 10.5:1 compression.

If the engine is in poor condition now, it probably does feel like 200hp...or less..