Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I found a FREE 351C with an FMX tranny bolted to it, the claim is it runs, but I would go through it. I am new to it all is this a good motor swap for my trashed 302 in my 68 Galaxie ?

·
Save a horse, Ride a Cowboy.
5,122 Posts
It's ok, and will take the C-4 also. If you can swap it easier and cheaper than fixing the 302, go for it. It should be a straight drop-in for the 302. Same mounts, etc.

Depending on which year it is, it probably has the low compression open chamber heads common to 2 bbl engines. No power house because of the low compression, and somewhat detonation prone. IMO. Parts are higher.

·
Premium Member
4,097 Posts
X is fast :thumbup:
If it is in fact a cleveland with an FMX, the mounts should bolt up, if you want to use your current trans the bell housing will fit also. I think the FMX and c4 use the same mount and driveshaft yoke, but I'm not 100% sure .

The exhaust manifolds are totally different as are most of the accessory drive brackets and pullys, so if you can get the motor with all of that stuff on it already you will be saving alot of grief.

Make sure that your water pump inlet is on the same side, they make a rh and a lh for the windsor type motors, but the clevelands only have a driver's side inlet as far as I know.

I don't think there are any issues with clearance with shock towers on that galaxie, so you should be good to go. :thumbup:

You might want to think about a bigger radiator also. Clevelands want as much radiator as you can give them.

Later, mikey

·
Registered
307 Posts
Hey bill here ..