Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to building from the ground up , I purchased a 78 vette project I'm planing on turning it into a 383 with a 177 blower I was qurious of what anyone had to say about the kit I'm planing on purchasing here are the specs. As well as your thoughts on the blower I'm going with as a combo thanks.

Scat nodular cast steel crankshaft.
H-beam 5.7 Full floating Bushed rods with 7/16 12 Point cap screws.
Probe low expansion Fully forged 12cc dish pistons 4.030 bore size
Hastings plasma Moly rings
king bearings
Pro street damper
168 tooth flex plate

Thanks,

·
Of course it's fast
2,670 Posts
NO.
Forged is the way to go with forced induction. What are you planning for cr? Make sure the kit will work with the heads you want, deck hight, etc...

·
Registered
840 Posts
I think BigDog is right. The scat cast cranks are pretty good to 500 HP. But I think you'll be pushing, or exceeding that.

PatM

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
What crank would do the best ? and I'm torn on cams I'm not sure the way to go for the build I'm thinking I want to go with a mid sized cam and let the blower make most the power

·
Of course it's fast
2,670 Posts
What I do for the cam is either to pick a cam and build the engine based of of it. Or build the engine how you want it to perform and pick a cam that works with what you want.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I actually noticed that and I can get the -22 dish pistons for the same price I'm trying not to spend a ton but want good horsepower I found the kit for 850 block after machine work around 650 and 2500 for the 177 supercharger and I figure with about another 1500 I can pick up a good set of heads and cam

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I think Im gonna go with the 355 now that I looked into it and looks like I'll save a lot of money going that route thanks guys for the advice

·
Registered
17 Posts