Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

I'm guessing that this has been asked and answered 100 times and I apologize if it has as my searches didn't bear any fruit.

Due to my frame geometry, a 3 link would be much easier to construct. I'm wondering what you guys feel would be the performance difference, if any?

FYI, 1970 Ford F-100, BB Ford (500-600HP), Mustang II up front, custom frame sitting pretty low on air bags.

Thanks in advance,

Wes

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hey Billy,

I've been through your blog but am having troubles with terminology and such. I understand the physics pretty well (I'm an Engineer) but am still getting used to what's what. I'll dig into it this weekend and post back with any questions.

Thanks again guys,

Wes

·
Registered
10 Posts
3 link

Hey Billy,
I'm building a Model A highboy style w/350sbc, 350 combo. probably a 9" or 8.8" rear w/stock transverse spring behind axle setup. Can I build a suitable 3 link with the stock trailing arms (maybe beefed up) as the bottom links and a tubular odd link on top? how long is long enough? It's just for street use..300to400 hp max. thanks, Mike

·
Philippines Cowboy
888 Posts
msherrow said:
Hey Billy,
I'm building a Model A highboy style w/350sbc, 350 combo. probably a 9" or 8.8" rear w/stock transverse spring behind axle setup. Can I build a suitable 3 link with the stock trailing arms (maybe beefed up) as the bottom links and a tubular odd link on top? how long is long enough? It's just for street use..300to400 hp max. thanks, Mike
Links must be pivotable at BOTH ends.

·
Registered
10 Posts
3 link

so if I remove cast/forged piece on rearend side and replace with steel tubing welded to inside of tube to incorporate rod ends? and one on the front as well? won't the upper link take the abuse/torque and the lowers just for locating? do they need to intersect at a fictional point somewhere?

·
Philippines Cowboy
888 Posts