Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m brand new to the page so thanks first off for any and all help and advice.
Looking for thoughts opinions on build

I kinda know weak spots but want others input
Building 5.7 406 for my 4 door 57 chevy wagon.
block is gm 400 with splayed caps, balanced crank rods and Venolia flat tops
.510/.520 230/236 @.50 LS 110 hyd roller cam
1.6 pro magnum rockers
Eddy 195cc RPM heads
ATI balancer
Digital MSD w Billet mech dist.
Air gap intake older 750 hp carb
Hamburger pan

4.10 quick perf 9”
700 r 4 2400 converter
28-29” tire( pie crust cheater for now)
Car is probably about 3700 with me in it.
It ran 14.30s with stocker 350 with dart S/R heads and 3.55 8.2 rear.
I assume from all the research I’ve done the heads are marginal and the converter is not enough.
Intention is a street car with occasional weekend racing.
Thanks for any info or opinions.

·
Registered
33 Posts
To me that build sounds very Solid, obviously there are all the usual drawbacks of a GM 400 but it seems you are in the sweet spot where you probably just need to match the cam profile to the Head flow numbers and i know the Eddy heads have springs for .575 but you may be right where you want to be with the head flow. I had a similar situation where i had a 4 door 77 malibu 350 w double humps that was a great driver that i changed into a 500 hp setup similar to yours. The 700 i had to shortshift or it would slip bad. I currently still have that same tran and am attempting to build another for a C4 im building but i Think the trans will be a weak point from Exp with that Heavy a car and that Power. But the motor info sounds great.. Don't know if you've considered an Elec water pump and small pulley system.. That would be cool on that car to keep it cool other than if your driving longer distances..

·
Registered
24 Posts

1.6 pro magnum rockers
Eddy 195cc RPM heads
ATI balancer
Hamburger pan

4.10 quick perf 9”