Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
what should i do? i'm new in car building. i wanted something different than the norm.so , i went and brought a Chrysler 1941 royal 2 door.and thats what i got not the norm or parts! The interior needs a lot of work! well all work seats,dash,liner,carpet.The floor is good, no rust ,the body is straight,needs paint. Needs glass. rubber, and new tires. the car runs on its 6 flathead. So,should I dump a lot of money into it? Or should i sell it and start with something else? I want my car to be a daily driver. I got the car for $2000, i'm starting to feel i bit more than i can chew! thanks ! any feedback would be great.

·
Registered
1,192 Posts
Do you really like this car? Do you know what you wanna do with it?
If you really like it and have an idea in your head what you want it to look like then why sell it?
It might take some time, even years, but work on small things at a time. Start fixing up the interior a bit and get it street legal. Once you can drive it on the streets that's half the exitment of building a rod right there. Then you can slowly work on the other things, on the side you can build up an engine and give the car a new paint job. How much money do you wanna put into it? Build it like YOU want it, not like other people think looks good.

Mike

·
Premium Member
8,454 Posts
You are looking at a BIG project there. Any rod buildup will take at least a year and a half if you mostly DIY and have a day job. Also, since it is an off brand, there will be a ton more custom parts building than for a belly button Ford or Chevy which you can literally build out of a catalog. Finally, even if you mostly DIY and watch your pennies, it will cost a minimum $15,000 to $20,000 for a quality rod. The vast majority of project cars end up as unfinished garage stuffers. Don't want to throw cold water on your dreams, just laying out the facts.