Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was given a 454 chevy marine engine with a busted block and would like to build it for my street rod but all I hear is horrow stories.Since I am not a professional engine builder I need some advice and help. Is it true marine engines that come from a boat with 2 engines have different rotations and if so what effect does this have on internal parts. Also I was told to never use a truck blockwhy?

NEED HELP THANKS Wiretwister

·
Save a horse, Ride a Cowboy.
5,122 Posts
wiretwister said:
I was given a 454 chevy marine engine with a busted block and would like to build it for my street rod but all I hear is horrow stories.Since I am not a professional engine builder I need some advice and help. Is it true marine engines that come from a boat with 2 engines have different rotations and if so what effect does this have on internal parts. Also I was told to never use a truck blockwhy?

NEED HELP THANKS Wiretwister
I can give you a partial answer.

Truck blocks have a higher deck height, from the crankshaft to the head, so a car type intake is too narrow and requires spacers between the intake and head.

Engines can rotate either direction, but of course the cam has to be for the desired rotation.

Generally, that's the 2 biggest things I see.

·
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
6,303 Posts
True, but the taller truck blocks only came in 366 and 427. If its a 454 its a standard deck height.

There is some debate on reverse rotation, but all evidence I've seen points to the fact that any engine installed with sterndrives (I/O) is standard rotation. Any counter-rotation props are due to the outdrive configuration.

But, like Xntrik said, its a simple cam change away from proper rotation.