Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
OK, I want to start building an engine that I can drop into a hot rod sometime. Hopefully soon. So I need some help building a strong engine. I know I want a 454, with at least 400hp? Maybe 550 with a shot of nitrous?

How would I go about building this engine. What would you do if it was you?

What is a good transsmision to go with it, manual or auto, and if auto what stall torque convertor.

What kind of carb set up? 4 barrel? 2 4 barrels?

Use a 4 bolt or 2 bolt?

Roller cam and rockers? No?

Maybe a super charger?

What kind of heads? Pisons? How much compression to run it on pump gas (premium at best(91 octane))

Basicly, what would you do if you wanted 400+ hp on a budget?

It will be going in a 50's style car by the way, my new rice killer project.

Please forgive me becasue I'm a noob, I just want to know what parts I should keep an eye out for.

·
Premium Member
2,370 Posts
I think for that power output you'd be better off going with a smallblock. Perhaps a 383 or a 400. Easily able to produce the power you are looking for and you wont have the weight of a BB.

Definitely want a 4barrel.

4 bolt mains are going to be stronger for your bottom end.

If you are on a budget I'd stick with a hydrualic flat tappet cam unless you go with a later year block that will accept the change without a retrofit kit. Even then you are looking at 500+ bucks for just the cam and lifters.

If your going to supercharge it, it must be built for the supercharger. Determine if this is in your future BEFORE you build.

Heads and pistons are going to be determined on what RPM range and what compression you'll want to run respectively. That will be determined on if you want to run a blower or not.

Many people have gotten away with 11:1 compression using aluminum heads running premium but someone will chime in with more information on that.