Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now I know this goes against all Chevy stuff, but my question is...can I take a 460 engine and put it into a 1983 Chevy C10? Or is it more work than it is worth or can I beef up the original C10 Engine to do everything the 460 can? I am kind of new to the car world. I have worked on them but this is going to be my first project. So any advice or pointers you have would be great thank you!
John from Iraq

·
305 Turbo-Fire 240hp
625 Posts
A 454cid chevy motor would be a good choice and cheaper to get parts than the 460 and that will drop right in the C-10. Thats if you wanna go big block. Several small blocks can make just as much power if not more than the 460.

·
Registered
17,613 Posts
Hi John. I'll wade in with an opinion. I wouldn't consider a Ford motor into a Chevy to be a real good idea. You have to consider selling the truck at some point in the future and buyers would be turned off by the combo I think. You're on the right track with lots of cubic inches to move a heavy truck, but I would be thinkin' a 454 Chevy or even a 496 using a 4.25" crank. I'd keep the static compression ratio in the 9.0-9.5 range so that I could use a relatively mild cam and keep good low end torque in the motor.

Be advised that you will want to use a roller cam in a BBC though, they tend to eat flat tappet cams.