Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need some help. I have a '48 Dodge 4dr car,suicide doors, 2 piece hood, perfect body, no drivetrain. I've never built a custom or hotrod car before, but I can ,and will ,do all the work myself . I bought this car just to do all custom things that you guys do. My question is : what sub frame will fit in front ? How do I go about finding one that will fit ?

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
'48 subframe ?

I went to the site you referred to, very interesting, good information, BUT it still dosen't help me pick out the right " donor car " . There has to be a way to narrow the field, other than carrying a tape measure around. So far I have got it down to :70 or 71 or newer, to get disc brakes, up to about 80 to stay away from those Mcpherson strut things and a the midsized car like the firebird, mustang, camaro, cutlass.......Am I going in the right direction here ?????????

·
SPI Thug
3,274 Posts
any camaro , nova , firebird from 68 till struts. all pretty much the same.

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
'48 subframe ?

Thanks guys, there's some new stuff there for me to digest, guess i"ll go back and look and measure the car some more . I do want to stay away from buying a factory made kit, although it may be easier, I still want to try "junkyard " parts, if that makes any sense (?). thanks.

·
Hotrodders.com moderator
9,581 Posts
Makes a lot of sense to me to want to use wrecking yard pieces..but it is some more work over just buying a piece from somewhere..

Listen to what shine said on that..the nova subframes are a bit narrower and the disk brake deal on those has been done numerous times..

WE do carry our tape measures when shopping as it is good to check twice cut once..

Sam

·
Administrator
18,402 Posts