Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
49 chevy truck Chassis swap 80 Camaro questions *UPDATE with Pics

Ok I bought a 1980 Camaro and We will be picking up the 49 Chevy truck tomorrow. So I have a few questions.

1. What rear end came with this truck and can I use the Camaro rear end instead?

2. Same question for the rear suspension.

3. Does anyone have a step by step for doing this chassis swap? New Interiors thank you for your help so far.

4. Should I use the wiring harness from the Camaro?

5. What else can I use off the Camaro?

6. Brake system for the rear and suggestions?

I know I may be asking alot here but this is my first time to swap a chassis and work on a vehicle older than me. I'm really pumped about tackling this though. I would appreciate any input, links, pictures and suggestions for doing this project. This is why I love these forums how did we ever get along without them.

Thank you in advance
Mark

·
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser
16,459 Posts
"Chassis swap"? The Camaro is a unibody and has no "Chassis".

Brian

·
Revolution Calling
916 Posts
Brian doesn't the 2nd generation Camaro have a 'sub frame' in the front that is sometimes used for this type of thing? Like, say to ditch the straight axle?

Blankenship: You can use a lot of things, column, brakes, PS, seat, it's up to your imagination. I'd probably simplify the wiring from the '80 and use the more modern fuse box.

Best of luck.

·
Administrator
18,631 Posts
I used a 76 Nova for my 51 Ford F1........The Camaro rear should fit, probably have to move the spring perches. I used the F1 springs and made new shock mounts.....Also used the master cylinder etc from the Nova. .....Grafted the Nava front clip top the Ford frame.

Attachments

·
Registered
17,613 Posts
Blankenship said:
3. Does anyone have a step by step for doing this chassis swap?