Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
purchased a 73 Lincoln Cont 2 door hardtop with 460 and C6 thinking I would transplant this engine and trans into my 55 project. Does anybody know what I would need to do for engine mounts / alterations etc.? Is this engine too heavy for this car? I will have Granada front spindles with the disk brakes, are these heavy enough to handle the 460? This is my first project so I will appreciate any and all advise! Thanks very much! :welcome:

·
Lost in the 60's
15,259 Posts
Welcome Ron...this is the Introduction forum....it would be best if you asked your questions in the General Hotrodding Tech forum. It will be seen a lot more there. :welcome:

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
great stuff, thanks!

Thanks Kultulz! Excellent information! Now, if I could just get some info on whether or not the 460 would be "too heavy" for the front end of my 55, I'd be well on my way!

I appreciate the quick and thorough information! :thumbup:

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
460 Engine in the 55 Ford

Thanks, you're great! I thought I had a bad valve (or two) in the 460 as it had the characteristic puff and miss under load. A vacuum test showed it was really good and even at 17. When pulling wires one by one, we found cyl 5 and 8 were "dead". We pulled the valve cover and checked the pushrods and springs which looked fine. I was casually glancing at an old repair manual and noticed that at some point (I just bought this Lincoln), someone crossed the wires. I changed them and put it back together, ran great with loads of power. Now, unfortunately, the key switch (which was acting up) has gone out and it won't even send a surge to the starter solenoid so I guess I'll replace the keyswitch tomorrow. UGH.