Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm a beginner in this game, I've been modifying cars for 2 years. I'm in love with 50's and 60's cars and trucks. My project right now is a 63 2 door Bonneville. The motor(389) is not orginal. I am installing a rebuilt Chevy 350 4 bolt main. Since the motor didn't match,I am adding lots of modern gadgets.
How do I center the motor on the frame so I can tack weld the chevy 350 mounts to the pontiac frame?

·
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
6,311 Posts
I just use a measuring tape between the frame rails and center the crank snout. You should shoot for perfect, but if you're off by 1/4" that will be closer than the factory got :)

·
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
6,311 Posts
I have a 66 Bonneville with a Caddy 500 and a complete 1-ton chassis including a 14-bolt full floater axle and 8-lugs up front too, a 73 Impala Station wagon with the factory 454 that will be getting a customized 6.5 diesel here soon. Then I have countless other non-running projects all getting ready for some odd engine swap :)

You're going to get a lot of crap for putting a chevy engine in a Poncho, but who cares... its your car.

Attachments

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·