Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I have a 1983 700r4 laying around and I would like to have it built to put in my 48 Chevy sedan. I heard the newer ones are alot better but all I am using for an engine is a zz4 crate motor. Will this trans be acceptable with a performance rebuild buy a reputable tranny shop? Also, can I get some suggestions on wiring for the lock-up torque convertor? Lastly, is there a kickdown kit available to hook the tv cableup to a carb? Thanks I am new to these OD transmissions.

·
Registered
2,249 Posts
700r4

The early 700R4 such as your '83 model are a very poor choice to use and have a lot of weaknesses,up until 1987 GM made a lot of changes trying to get it right.The best core in a 700R4 is a 1987-91 unit these have all the internal mods that will allow them to live and are also non-computer so work well in an earlier model swap.www.transmissioncenter.net has almost any part you will want to do your upgrades and good tech advice (also a great CD on rebuilding).Also do a lot of research on proper TV cable adjustment,do it wrong and a 700R4 can get wiped out in minutes.

·
Registered
761 Posts
302 Z28 said:
I would look for a later model 700R4 if it were me.

Vince
If you want a non-auxilliary valve body type like the 1983, then get a late 1986 or early 1987. If you want the auxilliary valve body, then go with Crosley's suggestion.

You can easily tell the difference between aux and non-aux by the casting seam that arches over the oil tube fittings. Seam = auxilliary valve body.

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·