Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 71' El Camino project car off of my cousin. It has a 307 in it with Header's,Edelbrock performer intake,holley carb,dual exhaust flowmasters. It's my first project car so im pretty excited.... now my question.... I wanted to take that 307 out of there and put in a mild(300-325 HP) 350 in it... How much do you think ill have to spend to reach my goal of 300-325 HP with a 350? Later on I wanted to convert it into a 4-Spd Manual....how much am I looking at to convert it into a manual?

Thanks in advance.

·
Not Considered a Senior Member
10,722 Posts
with the right pieces you can reach your power goal with the 307. Or you could get a 350 block, install the 307 crank, and have a 327. it`s known the more cubes the better, but I like to be different, everyone has a 350, 307`s and 327`s aren`t so common anymore. as for the 4 speed, finding one is the hard part, and when you find it you`ll pay for it, then you`ll need the pieces from a aftermarket supplier, how much it`ll cost is up to you as the spender.

·
Member# 3287
2,625 Posts

·
Registered
1,418 Posts
I may have been darn lucky, but I got a used Saginaw and a Cenerforce gold clutch, pressure plate and throwout bearing and drove the crap outta it without ever a problem. Im talkin 6500 rpm launches in a 3800lb car with 4.56 gears, so Im not a firm believer in buying those expensive trannies.
Remember all the linkage, z bar and little pieces you'll need to. Hg
p.s. I believe those crate GM performance motors cost like 1995 and put out around 325 horses outta the box.

·
Come Home Safe Soldier
846 Posts
300 HPis reasonable and not to expensive of a goal to accompolish.You can build that with a good cam and a nice set of good flowing heads + a good intake.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #7