Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I actually have a 76 Omega, and am looking to convert it to a manual, if I can get out of it for pretty cheap. It is my first project car, and am not really looking to have to fabricate a taller/wider tunnel. So, I was wondering what trans I could throw in there, and have the factory tunnel still all clear. Also, and more importantly, I've been reading a little bit, and heard it's pretty hard to try and piece together this conversion. I found a kit, (auto to manual trans conversion kit). Problem is, I can only find one and it is for a 69-74 Nova. I just need to know if that kit would at all possibly work with it being the wrong year, and the wrong model. Only reason I'm asking is because I know Nova and Omega are highly interchangeable and I'm not sure how much changed from 74 to 76 as far as this conversion.

Link to the kit: 1969-1974 Nova Small Block Manual Conversion Kit (with Headers)

Thanks

·
Registered
671 Posts
I would think all the X-body car would be close to being the same. Since there was sticks available, the tunnel should be ok. Not sure why you want to switch to a stick? You may have to find a donor car to get all the parts. Trying to find them individually, may be more problem than the assemble. I know there was a problem getting the bell-olds motor to match one year. Are using the original old motor- or chevy combo.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I would think all the X-body car would be close to being the same. Since there was sticks available, the tunnel should be ok. Not sure why you want to switch to a stick? You may have to find a donor car to get all the parts. Trying to find them individually, may be more problem than the assemble. I know there was a problem getting the bell-olds motor to match one year. Are using the original old motor- or chevy combo.
Throwing in Chevy motor. 350