Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, as the title says I have a 1969 Caprice, it has a 350 that is all stock (other than the carb). I have seen a lot of things about swapping heads over, and I am already aware that Id have to get a different intake to go from the carb to the injected Vortec heads, but is this even possible to do on a 69' 350. I haven't seen anything dealing with a motor as old as this one, only 75 and newer. Plus if I did do this what would be the actual gains of the head swap? How much of a power increase should there be? This is my first project car and I have enough knowledge to get myself into trouble, but not enough to get back out of it, so any help is apricated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
13,774 Posts
You need to pry the valve covers off to get the head casting numbers as there were pretty good heads being used back in 69.

This gets into the change of accessory brackets bolting to the front faces of heads and 69 is in this swap period where Chevy was leaving in machined on their ends heads behind and going to heads with machined ends. This is all about accessory mounting. All of these heads will fore and or backdate with the correct brackets to hang the accessories on.

The usefulness of L31, Vortec or any post 1995 modern head whether GM or aftermarket has a lot to do with cam timing and compression. Note your 69 probably already has a decent compression ratio but here you and we need the details that can be gleened from casting numbers and if still visible the engine ID numbers which will be on the block pad just above and behind the right side coolant pump block attachment. This be on your left when standing in front of the vehicle. From these it can be deduced what option this engine is.