Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright.... I'm new to to the forum scene and I need some help....
I've bought a '99 Tahoe 5.7L Vortec 4WD few months ago from an auction with 197,xxx on the odometer.
It ran a little rough but I gave it a tune up, drove it about 5,000 miles and It just ***** the bed with both heads cracked.
Now my question is.... Would it be ok to just slap a set of rebuilt heads on the 200k mile block and call it good?

The heads that came off of it are "12558062"
I do have a good set of "14102193" heads that come off a 1994.
Would they work on my Tahoe?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Attachments

·
Registered
14,052 Posts
Alright.... I'm new to to the forum scene and I need some help....
I've bought a '99 Tahoe 5.7L Vortec 4WD few months ago from an auction with 197,xxx on the odometer.
It ran a little rough but I gave it a tune up, drove it about 5,000 miles and It just ***** the bed with both heads cracked.
Now my question is.... Would it be ok to just slap a set of rebuilt heads on the 200k mile block and call it good?

The heads that came off of it are "12558062"
I do have a good set of "14102193" heads that come off a 1994.
Would they work on my Tahoe?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
The 193 heads won't bolt to the intake and have exhaust heat cross over passages that would fry the plastic intake if it did.

Cracked heads are a good indicator that the engine was toasted somewhere in it's history, they are scrap. These heads are available rebuilt on Ebay and other places at resonable costs, new factory heads are available resonably priced. The after market has versions in aluminum and iron that are better than the factory heads and much less sensitive to heat induced cracking than the OEM heads.

Bogie

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
oldbogie I appreciate the prompt response...