Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello i am new to the whole spray gun and car painting scene but I'm in the process of restoring a car i acquired and would like to attempt to paint it myself. I have done a pretty good job of research on the subject but still am not sure on what to order. I would like the paint job to be a pretty good quality and if i can accomplish that i have many other jobs waiting for me so could make a little cash on side.

I have read a couple post threw out the web and came to the conclusion that the * Devilbiss GFG-670G "Plus" * is a good gun that i am highly considering. Although, will i be able to spray the whole car with it or will i have to buy a primer gun and other guns? Another question, Whats a nice cheaper air compressor you would suggest for this gun? Also i am still a bit sketchy on the process to paint it in as in the coats of paint. After i have all the body work done i should start with primer and then work my way up? I know a lot of these questions may seem very basic but if i am on the verge of spending $800-1000 bucks on equipment i would like to be certain i have everything i need to complete the job right and a overview of the process in which it should be correctly carried out in. That includes when i should sand , what grit to use etc. Also one last thing is i would like to do a white or black for the color i want to paint the car. I haven't looked into "mixing" the ingredients yet and was hoping some one could point me in the right direction. I posted on these forums because i wanted some advice from the pro's and figured this would be a good place to start. If you could help a beginner out it would be very much appreciated. I thank those of you who do help me for spending their time to post. Sorry for the length but i think the answers to a lot of these questions could help out other beginners in the future also. Have a nice day -Rain

·
Registered
92 Posts