Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, any of you pros out there have a recommendation for an all around airbrush. I've never had one. Something not too expensive but not junk and that will have everything needed in the kit. Would like to use it for airbrushed flames and highlights on other flames. I'm not an artist so no real fancy requirements but easy to chage colors..And a source for it maybe? There are about 100 billion airbrush sets for sale on the net.
Also, I've only seen a couple of airbrushed flame jobs but they were really nice, one on a harley looked like you would burn your hand if you touched it. Anywhere to get an idea of how to do those. Merry Christmas and Thanks much, Ray

·
Registered
327 Posts
To add to the question I picked up what looked like a fancy air brush that turned out to be a KopyKaKe air brush used for decorating CAKES oh well $3 down. But has anyone use one for air brushing auto paint work and what is the differance. Ed ke6bnl I can't really see a diffance.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Iwata is by far the best bang for the buck, they are high end but will last forever. I have 3 of these. being the HP-A Plus, ECLIPSE G6 Airbrush ECL-9000, and the HP-C Plus.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Jeeptuff is right, Iwata is pretty much recognized as the top of the line in airbrushes. More pros use these airbrushes than any other right now. If you want the best that would be what I'd suggest, it would be hard to find anything better.

Now having said that, there are other airbrushes that are nearly as good but cost less. I personally use a Thayer and Chandler Omni 3000 for most of my work and I ocassionally break out my old Pasche VL. Both of those can be found for approximately half the price of an Iwata and are capable of producing nice results.

Below are links to a couple of airbrush forums where you can get lots more info.

Hope this helps!

http://www.westcoastairbrush.com/airbrushforum/index.php