Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
256 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I just wanted to post up and see if I'm missing any steps, it's my first time with a solid cam so I wanna be sure I'm doing it right.

It's a 1970 c10 with a 10.3-1 355. I pulled the Comp 280H hydraulic ft out and put in a semi custom ground cam also from Comp. Its close to the 282s but not exact. It has .495" lift and [email protected]" and its on a 106 LSA. I put a coat of assembly lube on the cam and slid it in. Rotated the crank until the "0" dot on the crank gear was straight up, then put the cam gear on with the dot facing straight down. Loosened most of the oil pan bolts so I could get the 1 peice timing cover on (never using a 1-peice again, what a 2 hour nightmare!), used a bit of black RTV on the corners of the lower part of the T-cover, and just enough on the gasket to stick it in place. Timing cover on, I coated the new solid lifters with assembly lube and dropped them in, followed by the pushrods with a dab of lube on the top, followed by the roller rockers, then topped those with new poly locks. So, now the crank is set perfectly at #6 TDC (cam and crank gears at 12 and 6 o'clock) and the valvetrain is on but not tightened at all. I got a remote starter because I thought it may help adjustments go quicker and just make this more fun, so I'll hook that up tomarrow. That's where I stopped for tonight, and I wanted to see if anyone had any pointers or can see I'm skipping a step. Also wanted to ask a few questions.

Is the best method for setting valve lash on a good sized cam with some decent duration EOIC? How do I use my remote starter when using that method? And what should I set lash at to break in the new cam? Something other than the spec on the cam card? (.020")