Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the purpose of angle milling heads? Reducing chamber volume is my only guess. If the intake edge is left alone do you still have to make adjustments to your intake manifold? I'm new at this, sorry for dumb questions.

·
Registered
9,050 Posts
Angle milling heads was popular back in the seventies. Back then all that was available were basically stock production based heads. Angle milling made an improvement in the intake charge angle. Modern heads have that built in.

If you cut the deck at an angle. The intake must also be cut. When this procedure was popular a small protracter type guage was used to set both angles. The intake usually needed the end rails cut also. The head bolt holes have to be spotfaced and sometimes the holes have to be enlarged and/or redrilled at a better angle. Pushrod holes elongated with a "Louis" tool.

I haven't heard of anyone angle milling for a long while. At least since the mid eighties.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Unfortunatly some of us still have customers who want their heads angle milled. :rolleyes: Then they complain why it costs so much and why the intake needs to be cut also.

·
Troll Hunter
2,694 Posts
Angle milling while it may have improved intake line was primarily done to bump compression. By milling more on the plug side, the deepest part of the chamber, you could remove more ccs and raise the compression and not use pop up pistons that hinder the flame front.

·
Save a horse, Ride a Cowboy.
5,122 Posts
Angle milling also often necessitates a custom valve train as well as the missfits mentioned.

For any head milling, flat or angled, the intake face of the head should be milled to allow a stock intake to fit. All competetent machine shops will do this automatically when they mill the head gasket surface.

Angle milling also makes the head prone to cracking.