Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need a few awnsers...

I have been spraying PPG paint for the last 16 years, went from DBC to Global, then too Nexa.

Global was'nt all that great, but tolerable. Nexa on the other hand, just plain gives me trouble.

I think it has a lot to do with it being such a high solid paint, but there are way too many steps you have to take to make this stuff work, especially in the blends.

If anyone has sprayed this, or is currently spraying it, please respond. I have lots of issues with ppg in general, like when a few months down the line a car comes back to have something else done to it, and you can see the repair you did previously, to dieback, hazy looking....etc...

·
Registered
9 Posts
I just demo-ed Nexa a few weeks ago and didn't like it at all....everythings way too thick!! I've used Sikkens since 1991 but I did work in another shop briefly ('96-'97) that used PPG and then Dupont. We had troubled with DBC mottling and striping. We had 3 painters and we all had the same thing happening. The rep came in and sprayed a hood on a light green metallic Honda and his striped worse than anybody, this after he said nobody else was having problems with mottling :rolleyes: . I also seen jobs return for other work and didn't like what I was seeing with the clears (2020 and 2001). So we switched to Dupont, and honestly I loved using that system. I ended up going to work for the Sikkens shop I'm at now. I will say that Sikkens does hold up very well over time, I'm just not crazy about color match with the Autobase Plus. I do blend into adjacent panels 99% of the time but still tint/adjust the color way more than I feel I should have to. Wish I could talk my boss into switching to Dupont. Rocco

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks again rocco!!!

You have answered a lot of my ?'s in that post.