Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, guys, I'm really new to welding etc, but thing is .. after having my car waiting since spring 2001 I now finally have the chance to work on it.

I have a few questions about welding. I'm on a really tight budget *lol* Uncle Sam aint paying us that much *lol*.

I guess I have two choices .. a cheap MIG welder .. or a cheap ARC welder (stick welder .. correct ?).

What I need to do is the following:

1) Chassis work, may have to fabricate something for another rear end, or for coilovers if I decide to go that way.

2) Sheet metal work, since I don't believe in making wider rear fenders by adding tons of fiberglass and attach it with screws or adhesive to the body.

3) Roll cage ... chassis/body strengthening .. in order to stiffen things up and also reduce body flex (got problems just behind the top with metal cracking due to body flex).

Can I use an ARC welder .. a real cheap one hmmm say .. what amperage... 80 amp .. good enough ? Or should I go for 140 amp ? .. Talking about a stick welder .. .since having problems finding real real cheap MIG welders .. plus I want to be able to not only spot weld but to make real real strong beads when doing chassis and cage work.

I know stick is usually not good for sheet metal .. but I've seen attachments out there .. nowadays.. where one can supposedly weld 22 gauge metal.

Any thoughts ?

·
Registered
2,677 Posts
I will tell you to get a MIG... Much more versatile, better welds, easier to operate, and it will weld your sheet metal without an "attachment". Take the cost of any "bandaid" stick welder stuff you need to buy and throw it at the MIG.
There are plenty of low cost units out there that will do the kind of work you need to do. Check out Daytona Mig, Harbour Freight, Northern Tool Supply etc.
Mark

·
Registered
533 Posts