Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. I just was given (Christmas present) a Sears DVOM by my MIL. Couple questions- The numbers in my manual for coil are, secondary 7200-9500 primary 1.28-1.42 The test (with my new meter :)) shows secondary 9600, primary 1.8. Are these numbers with-in range? On the condensor test I set MM on OHMS in auto range. The mm rises slowly up to about-well, sometimes it goes to 31point something and then it will hold there and maybe drop to OL or it might not. Another test will have it rising (again, slowly) up into the 4 digits- maybe, once again, it may or may not drop back to OL. Since I am new with all this, what am I seeing here? To my understanding the numbers on the condensor test should rise to infinity (What would this look like on the DVOM?) and back to zero "real" fast! In other words what numbers should I see? I sure i will have more questions on this new (to me) DVOM but I will stop with thoseLOL! I am certaintly open for any tips/pointers from you folks in terms of operating this MM. Again. I have never even used one of these new-fangled gizmos :spank: . I hope this has been coherantLOL. Thanks for any help as it is much appreciated!

Keith

·
Registered
7,345 Posts
Doc here, :pimp:

Standard Readings on a Remote (Non HEI GM type Coil) will be :

OHMS SET to RX1, CALIBRATED to 000, Primary Side of coil, LESS than an ohm, but more than 000.

OHMS SET to RX10K or higher, SECONDARY SIDE of the coil, 10,000 to 11,000 Ohms.

On a GM HEI type, The primary is the same as above..

The Secondary needs to be set to auto range, and should read between 6,000 and 30,000 ohms.

On a Cap, It should start out as a high Ohm reading and slowly taper off to 000 or Infinite, then reverse the probes and it should do the same again. If it drops quick, or hunts around get a new one..they are only a few bucks!

Doc :pimp:

·
Registered
806 Posts