Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Hotrodders.com Moderator
2,783 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to here both sides of this issue.

A brief back ground on me before i start. I work full time as a manufacturing engineer and i own a small automotive machine shop i run part time. My prices in my shop are about average for the area i live in. Some are higher then my competition some are lower. but all of them are right in the ball park. I am thinking about going full time with my shop in maybe 5 years or so. So i price the jobs like i need to do it full time. I don't undercut them just to get the work even though i could because i don't need the income to survive........

Here is my issue that i just started thinking about. I have a prospective new customer to do a block for. He asked me if he can bring his own parts. I got to thinking about this and it kinda ticked me off. Me and cstraub just had this conversation this week and like he said you would not go into a steak house with a piece of meet you bought at wall mart and ask them to cook it for you,,, Would ya????? The deal for me is how do i tell him in a nice way that i really don't want to use parts that he is going to buy somewhere else????

I understand everyone is on a budget. I don't have $100 bills flying out of my butt either, but you are talking $35.00 worth of cam bearings and freeze plugs for crying out loud.....

When i built my shop i wanted to do all the work my self but did not have the time. So i got prices on poll buildings. I did the site work and i hung my own doors, finished the floor ran all the electric, plumbing etc. But the building it self i had someone build. The contractor agave me a price and i payed him. I never called and asked if he would use my steel, or my trusses etc.....

I'll probably loose the job over this because i know the customer is shopping just on price, but i was wondering what everybody's thoughts Pro and Con are on this subject.

Keith

·