Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have a 1974 454 BBC that I'm putting in a 1958 Chevy Apache. I'm throwing some brand new rebuilt 781 heads and a 572 Lunati Cam in it. It's going to be for racing purposes of course and when racing run of 110 race gas and if daily driven off of normal 91 octane pump gas, but I was just curious what are some general guesses on how much HP this setup might potentially make, and how what would be a decently low buck way of adding HP to this setup eventually?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You might need to add more information about the engine .

454 RATTLER
Ok, I mean from my information its the stock 4.25in stroke and 4in bore, flat head pistons, other than that general flow numbers and things like that I'm not sure of, I'm very new to engine building at the moment

·
Registered
17,612 Posts
Lots of stuff wrong here Jimmy. Your stock static compression ratio is likely about 7.8:1. The cam you are proposing will need 10.5:1 to 12.0:1 static compression ratio, which will require a piston change and aftermarket torque converter, as well as a stiffer rear gear. And there is no way the motor will run on 91 octane fuel with a static compression ratio that is required for the cam.

Big block Chevies, when built for racing, with stiffer than stock valve springs, do not play well with flat tappet cams and lifters. You will have to use either a roller tappet hydraulic camshaft or a roller tappet solid camshaft.

A pickup truck is the worst possible body to begin racing with. It's like trying to make a barn door go fast against the wind.

There is no low-buck way to add horsepower. You step up to the window and lay down your hard-earned green and hope you chose the right pieces and that's it.

Here is a wiki article that I wrote which may help you to understand the relationship between cam timing and static compression ratio...…