Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am currently a jaguar master tech at a jaguar dealership, I have been turning wrenches for 8 yrs now 4 for jag and 4 for ford. I have been thinking it's time for a change lately. So I wanted to throw the question out there and see some different opinions, What car line would be the best from a money making and working condition standpoint? I'm currently making 60-70k a yr in a well lit, air conditioned shop. The cars I work on, the lack of tech support, the constant fussing about our global warranty being to high and the low volume of cars coming through the shop are leading me to want to explore my options. So lets hear some opinions on the matter from some of the other ppl in this field.

·
WrenchingAce
116 Posts
I've never worked for a dealership before so I'm not sure what kind of politics are involved but after seventeen years of working in a couple small mechanic shops I have come to the conclusion that if I ever decided to go to work for a dealer then I'd definitely go to Ford. There never seemed to be a shortage of Ford cars and trucks coming through the shop. I'm not just saying that to degrade Ford but, in my experience, I would say I had more Fords in the shop than anything else. Since you mentioned that you already worked for Ford in the past maybe that might be a good move for you.

·
Registered
306 Posts