Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3,591 Posts
The best sanders made by a big margin is the "Dynabrade" brand.
Next best is the "Hutchins" line.

·
Premium Member
8,453 Posts
I have been abusing one of these for 20 years. Finally wore out the fiber vanes in the air motor about 6 or 7 years ago and replaced them for ~$5 and still going strong. If this is half as good, I wouldn't have a second thought about buying one. I have a strong suspicion that all the name-brand guys get their high priced air tools from the same Chinese factories that Harbor Freight does.

·
Registered
3,591 Posts
I have two like that one, paid $149 for the first one but $179 for the last one. Do a search on Internet and just start looking.

·
Registered
85 Posts
[email][email protected][/email] said:
I have been abusing one of these for 20 years. Finally wore out the fiber vanes in the air motor about 6 or 7 years ago and replaced them for ~$5 and still going strong. If this is half as good, I wouldn't have a second thought about buying one. I have a strong suspicion that all the name-brand guys get their high priced air tools from the same Chinese factories that Harbor Freight does.
ditto, and the cheap rolls of paper from the same place :)

·
Registered
244 Posts
Do a search on ebay for Dynabrade.
There is a guy selling new Dynabrades all the time. Great prices, he CAN NOT be beat. Abrasive supply I believe the name is.
I bought the second best model they offer for around 140 bucks.
From my understanding Dynabrade makes three sanders.
Red top-automotive
Gray top-Industrial
Black top-Severe usage.

Ive got the Gray top sander and Love it!!!

Guy I work with believes Harbor Freight is the best thing since sliced bread. His tools dont have anywhere NEAR the power or speed as any name brand tool. Plus he is always returning them cause they break.