Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Administrator
18,636 Posts
I am going to leave this to the experts....but in my opinion, it depends on what you are doing...

sheet metal.....mig
heavier frame work etc......arc
Brazing has its place........Tig, I know little about, but is very versitile

·
Registered
77 Posts
There's a saying about this: "You don't drive railroad spikes with a tacking hammer and you dont do finish nails with a sledgehammer". In other words, it depends on what you are doing and it also depends on your welding rig.

IMO, and I am NOT a pro but I have done MIG, Gas, and Arc the break down is like this:
Mig: great for sheet and can do heavier metals with a good welder. relatively easy to learn.
Arc: great for plate and thick steel. relatively hard to learn.
Gas: Very versatile with a proper array of tips and a large bottle. "in the middle" in terms of difficultly. Special note: gas is the slowest method of welding but you have a lot of control over what is going on.

TIG: I have not done TIG, but everything I've seen/heard describes it as the Rolls-Royce of welding. With a good unit; extremely versatile, faster then gas, but slower then MIG. The problem? Good TIG units are not cheap (last I checked).

·
Registered
93 Posts
For bigginers, mig welding is the easiest to learn,and its the most versatile way to weld. Arc welding is what they have you do at a welding school first,if you can arc weld,then you can mig weld. Tig welding is the best way to weld,but it takes alot of expierience to master it. :pimp: Depends on what you want to weld. :pimp:

·
Registered
28 Posts