Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys

Anybody have any input about these big inch sbc. Im restoring a street/strip 72 nova and Id like to put a sbc 427 in it. The low bucks route would be a 406 with a factory block, but a good block is hard to come by and Id be pushing the factory block to its limits. I wouldnt want to put my investment at risk by using a questionable block. I like the world block but its very pricey. I looked at a dart little M blem, but it will only get me to 420 ci. Another option would be the iron eagle but I worry about the up costs of the spread rails and the raised cam.

Any help would be appreciated , Im a newbie and soon it looks like Ill be a broke newbie

Thanks Street

·
Registered
5,653 Posts
IMHO ... the extra few cubic inches are NOT worth the expense ... in a street car ... Heads only flow so much ... and are the limiting factor on most street cars making horsepower. Save your $$ and just bore a 400 block 30 thousands over with a good set of head plates ...

:)

·
Registered
1,527 Posts
The few extra inches aren't worth the cost to get them IMO. Use the money for a better heads, hydraulic roller cam and and thorough machine work. You'll be far above what you'd get from 21 cubic inches.

Larry

·
Registered
1,875 Posts
Canton has you covered on the oil pan and Cloyes on the timing chain, nothing to fret on with the spead pan rails or raised cam.

There are no downsides to an aftermaket block from a mechanical standpoint. Only the HUGE upside of a much stouter base to build off of. These blocks though do need to be inspected at the machine shop though. Nothing is ever perfect and we have done our fair share of truing up on these blocks prior to a buildup.