Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
338 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I finally found what sizes my brake hoses were (see previous threads)but I also want to change my caliper bleeders for speed bleeders.

Try as I might, I cannot budge the existing bleeders. I have tried Liquid Wrench soaking for 2 days and am using a correct 3/8" six point socket. Nothing. I assume these are standard , not reversed, thread?

Any good suggestions for encouraging these bleeders to move?

·
Registered
26 Posts
brake bleeders

Unfortunately, I have broken a bleeder off and had to get a new caliper, thinking that just a tad more pressure would break it loose. I have never tried it, but would a torch for a short period of time loosen it? How about a smack with a small hammer to the back of a small breaker bar with a six point socket? Maybe while applying pressure, the shock might just be enough to break it loose. As far as the left hand thread idea, I don't know. I am not a mechanic, but have done a few brake jobs in my day and have never come across a left hand thread bleeder. Let us know on the outcome.

Dennis

·
Move It On Over!
227 Posts
Try using some JB-80 "Twice As Good" instead of the Liquid Wrench. My local parts store guy (Not a national chain) compares Liquid Wrench to dog pee. I've had pretty good results with the JB-80 and rusted up bleeder valves, bolts, etc.

·
Registered
81 Posts
heat it up with a small propane torch, you know the kind you would use for changing a hockey stick blade. Let it get good and hot so the threads expand and open up(1-3 minutes should do it). Works for me everytime.

·
Registered
2,354 Posts