Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi everyone..first thing is i am a amateur painter in my garage for about a year now and the last 5 cars i painted turned out realy good until today,ive been working for 2 weeks prepping this 1971 cadalac eldorado for a buddy and its been sitting in his garage for the last ten years with no glass or interior collecting dust and dirt,well tonite i decided to put my base on which is limco 4 with a hvlp develbus gun with 1.3 nozzle with 30 lbs air at the gun,well my first mistake was i had too much material comming out,got some run , then i got a blast of dirt and some plases on the car have little pinholes in it,this is the first coat,got frustrated and i have left it and i cant get back to it till sunday.my question is will i beable to sand the runs and dirt out and keep going or do i have to sand it all off.any advice would be greatly appreiciated.thankx from jovilinc

·
Registered
1,056 Posts
Just sand good with 600 or finer wet and dry. I usually wet sand . Clean car good and wax and grease clean, blow off and tack good before you re-shoot. Its best to re-mask car before you repaint. Then clear coat as you normaly would.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
swvalcon said:
Just sand good with 600 or finer wet and dry. I usually wet sand . Clean car good and wax and grease clean, blow off and tack good before you re-shoot. Its best to re-mask car before you repaint. Then clear coat as you normaly would.
thank u for the reply,ill let u know how i make out

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
swvalcon said: