Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there
In my life outside of cars and trucks, I work as a supervisor for a small construction company. The work truck I happen to use (and have a brief question about) is an old, beat up, but still reliable 85 Chevy Wrangler 3/4 Tonne Automatic PickUp.
This beast was originally bought with 2 Gas Tanks, and within the past few months the cross-over switch shorted, so we stopped using the driver side tank, which wasn't emptying.
The other day the dead tank started pissing like a pregnant racehorse, and was promptly removed redneck style in a parking lot with no more tools then a ratchet, 2 pry bars and a couple well placed kicks and swear words. After we had snapped all the clamps and brackets holding it in place, we found 2 holes in the tank, plus it was leaking near the top where the fuel line and sensor package sits.
We decided to scrap the tank and continue onwards. After brief consultation via phone to a mechanic buddy, I left the vapor line open, and tightly sealed the other 2 lines that used to run to the tank, as I was told to do.
Unfortunatly, we've had some real problems running the truck now...seems like theres either a lot of carbon somewhere or the gas I transfered from the old tank was really dirty, because now the truck stalls out nearly every time I put my foot down on the accelerator. To me it honestly sounds like theres alot of air or crap being sucked into the carb, because the engine keeps choking and sputtering like its running outta gas.
Another part of me tells me I changed the fuel/air ratio by removing the tank, and that I might have seriously screwed the vehicle.