Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Analog man in a digital world.
2,252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Rolled into town after work and 89 Octane Ethanol was down to $1.99! :eek: Bet that doesn't last long............... :pain:

·
Analog man in a digital world.
2,252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
tfeverfred said:
How does that stuff burn? I have not tried it.

I've been using it for almost 20 years, I've run it in everything from my old 283 '62 Chevy to our '99 Alero including old late 60's/early 70's Tecumseh and Kohler powered Wheel Horse garden tractors. I like it just fine, my '94 LeSabre got 29 MPG @ 70 MPH on the interstate with it and I just retired it at 201,000 miles because of rust, CV joints, rear struts and brakes. It still ran great and the only fuel system parts I ever replaced were the occasional filter, one injector and the fuel pump at about 100,000 miles. I ran it in the '62 for 10 years with no issues, I did put brass needles and seats in it when I first put the Holley carb on it but I don't think it was really necessary. I don't understand why everyone is so down on it, maybe because they believe all the BS you read about it eating up your fuel lines and making your tank rust. Never saw any of that on my stuff.

I tried running 87 Octane regular for a few tankfuls just to see if there was a big mileage difference like some people claim thinking I would get even better mileage. Sorry guys but I could not see any measurable difference in my vehicles. I suppose that will vary from vehicle to vehicle but it didn't for me.

·
Registered
44 Posts
i saw gas for $1.89 today, that is for 87 octane unleaded. there is a citgo in town that sells unleaded and midgrade for the same price. when ever i can i like to go over there and put some mid grade in. but i have knoticed with premo i get better gas mileage but then again i drive to school wich is 50 miles both ways 3 times a week.

·
Registered
128 Posts
buck 99 gas!