Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok Im pretty new at building engines so all info is much appreciated.

I have a 98 vortec 350 and Im wanting to stroke it to a 383. It has a Jims performance harness on it and he told me to use a ram jet cam on it. Is that a good idea? And what will I need to do to use it? And allso what would be a good stroker kit?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
6,009 Posts
Dodgeman7979 said:

I have a 98 vortec 350 and Im wanting to stroke it to a 383. It has a Jims performance harness on it and he told me to use a ram jet cam on it. Is that a good idea? And what will I need to do to use it? And allso what would be a good stroker kit?

Thanks in advance!
GM used the RamJet350 cam in their HT383 crate engines, so yes it will be a good torquey cam. You'll need a Stroker kit for the 1-piece rear main seal block as these are different from the older 2-piece rear main.
Scat has a good quality stroker kit >>> http://www.gofastnews.com/board/tec...cats-drop-383-simple-build-simple-budget.html

·
WFO
5,030 Posts
Dodgeman7979 said:

A lot depends on how you plan to use this engine- 4x4 truck, race, DD, etc.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It's for a rockcrawler. The only reasen why I ask if the ramjet
is good is the guy that cut my harness and did my comp said he has a good program for the ramjet but what would u use? The rev limiter is set at 6,000 so I won't need a cam for anything higher than 6,000.

Thanks for all the info so far.

·
Banned
9,993 Posts
the ramjet cam is basically a stock cam, which is good for basically stock power- no more than about 4500 RPM. The howards cam would produce more tq all the way from idle to redline.

·
Banned
9,993 Posts