Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are there any information available (at all), about starting to build a wheelstander project. I am just beginning to look at this. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
118 Posts
I think the common formula is rear motor rear drive with a hole in the floor board to see through, no?

Monster Garage did one out of an ambulance....

Seems straight forward to me, remove as much weight from the front - add as much as you can to the back. You need a fair amount of power and it wouldn't hurt to have seperate rear brakes so you could steer the thing. Front suspension will need some help for when you come crashing down. I'd get a good seat and harness as well.

Sounds like fun - do you have a vehicle in mind?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I do ( I think)...

I have a 73 VW Superbeetle that I'm wondering about. I bought it new, and thought that it "might" work, but just not actually sure yet.

I don't know if the original frame can be used, or if a special tubed frame is required.

I guess I best start with NHRA specs just to see what their requirements are on this, and go from there.

I have always been very interested in wheelstanders, and think that it would be a hoot to drive one. I'm thinking a sbc... maybe lightly blown would work and hopefully keep the maintenance to a minimum. Also, getting all of the driveline "stuff" figured out could be fun as well.

Thanks for your reply!

·
Glad the Jeep is on the road
809 Posts
Think for a little bit about weight distribution and driveline geometry in your choice and configuration of a platform.

Some famous wheel standers of the past are the Econoline type pickup with a mid-engine, or a fastback Barracuda with a mid-engine (wasn't that the original Hemi Under Glass?). Having the heavy motor closer to the rear wheels makes it easier to lift the nose.