Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
6,303 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm new to this code compliance stuff. I have a ton of contracting/building experience, but it has been primarily for someone else. Someone says "go build this garage" and I do it. They handle the permits, if any.

This is my second home that I've owned. The first one was not in an area that cared about permits (very rural) and I never really did anything that would have required a permit anyway.

Now I live in the suburbs and I'm beginning the installation on a wood burning fireplace. Not a masonry gig, it's a manufactured steel box that LOOKS like a masonry fireplace. I now have more knowledge of UL 1618, 103, and 127 as well as chapter 10 of the IRC than anyone really needs.

I applied for the permit. Now everyone is telling me I should have just done it and not said a word. I could understand doing a small deck, or a patio roof job without getting a permit, but I didn't want any confusion if I decide to sell. I'm just so clueless. Should I have applied? Should I have just said screw it and put it in anyway? If the permit is denied, do I keep trucking and put it in anyway? I feel like this is a pretty important thing to get right, kinda like a pool.

·
True Hotrodder
1,955 Posts