Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a 90 Mustang LX that I’m building a 331 for. The car weighs 3000 lbs. I am running 4.10 gears with 28” tires. The transmission is a Performance Automatic C4 with a 3500 Stall converter. I’m running an edelbrock victor Jr. intake and Performer RPM heads with 2.02/1.60” valves. Compression should be between 10.5:1 to 11.0:1. The car is not a daily driver but will see some street time, as well as ¼ mile time. I may add nitrous at a later date, but not more than about a 100 hp shot.

The cam (which I ended up buying) that was recommended by Chet Herbert was a 256/262 duration (@ .050) with .640/.672 lift. Initially (and compared to other cam manufacturer recommendations) this seemed like a lot of lift for this motor, but I’m no expert on cams. He also sent me manley valve springs (p/n 221443-16) which are 235 lbs seat/610 lbs open. I was told that these were a direct replacement for the springs on my edelbrock heads. I also got solid roller lifters from him.

The springs have been the main issue. First they did not fit the original edelbrock retainers or cups (locators). Called up manley and they got me hooked up with the right cups. Chet sent me some titanium retainers and locks. I thought I was good until I go to install the springs. They are listed as 1.950 installed height, but from my measurements, my heads are set up for 1.800 installed height. The coil bind on the springs that I was sent is 1.170". Now someone slap me if I'm doing this wrong, but 1.800 minus the amount of lift, .672 brings the spring to 1.128 compressed. That's past the coil bind.