Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive got an 86 El Camino with a 305 . I just swapped the cam for a summit 1102 and new Edelbrock performer intake, im trying to get the old quadrajet dialed in. It sputters and tries to die when you stab it like its not getting enough fuel. I think stock primary size is 72 summit has a 73 or a 76 . Does anyone have a guess on what jet size it may need?
Thanks for your time.

·
Registered
4,718 Posts
I am really not an expert on the Qjet as there is so many variables on what metering rods and jets are in them as they were all calibrated for what ever said vehicle they were put on since they were a factory made and tuned carburetor vs an aftermarket carb which will have a starting tune out of the box that will have to be changed and adjusted for whatever the application its going to be on. First off you might want to check your timing and make sure your ignition system is all up to par and that you have the correct timing curve with your engine before messing with your carb. Timing plays a very critical role in how the carb and everything else will respond.

I once had a problem after I changed out my coil and moved my distributor and thought I put it back in the right spot where I marked it and I also put a different carb on and for the life of me understand why I had a big stumble and no amount of adjusting my carb would change it and I was chasing my tail on it. I finally got my timing light out and checked it and even though I was almost spot on with my mark I still was off enough to have ten degrees of timing lost because I did not have it advanced enough at idle. Once I reset it all my problems went away. As far as your Qjet goes I could not tell you where your carb would be at factory settings as it would have been calibrated most likely with emissions put in the tune and most likely won't be correct for anything for performance wise.