Hot Rod Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
806 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, ive got a 1984 Z28 Camaro, If someone could walk me through what i should do first and so on that would be great, The carpet is out,dash is out, everything....I got the car for cheap, im putting a 350 .050 Bigger Cam, ect ect...Im only 17 so im not great with all the numbers, i just want to get the inside done while im waiting on the motor being bored, Thanks all...Oh yes i forgot, and if anyone could tell me where i could get a new dash, cause mine is cracked and a new gauge pod, that 85MPH speedo has got to go, im not sure what i can interchange, thanks again

[ September 17, 2002: Message edited by: Rubberman2003 ]</p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,353 Posts
Well putting in the interior is pretty simple, what exactly are you having problems with?

You can get a new dash from Year One or Performance Years as well as anything else you might want. You can get any aftermarket gauge to work in your car with the proper sending unit, buying a VDO gauge set will get you all you need. You can pick up VDO gauges from almost anywhere, summit, Jegs and thousands of other places. If you have a specific question let me know, glad to help.

HK
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Im not sure how stripped your talking but I would lay all my wiring first. Then I would put in my e-brake, seatbelts,dash ect. Then I would put in the carpeting,center console and all plastic trim and seats.I hope that will help a little. Im sure you have a manual already for the car but if you dont, I would strongly recamend it for component location and wiring diagrams. Im not sure but I might have an old speedo somewhere in the garage, but I cant promise you that. If I do you could have it, you would only have to pay shipping charges. I will look and let you know tomarrow. Happy to help and try to answer any questions you may have.

[ September 18, 2002: Message edited by: rgdei8 ]

[ September 18, 2002: Message edited by: rgdei8 ]

[ September 18, 2002: Message edited by: rgdei8 ]</p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
806 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies,I do have a manual so that will help with the wiring,Ive never really put the inside back together in a car, im sure ill be ok. What exactly are VDO gauges? Is it a whole gauge pod or is it just single gauges? BTW does anyone know what the 350 will have HP and torque wise?...I think it came out of a 70's something camaro, could be wrong though..Im going with 1 size bigger cam than it is stock and it is being bored .050 over, im also going to put shorty headers and 3in pipes on it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
806 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
If you could find a speedo that would work that would be awesome, as long as it goes faster than 85 ;) Thanks for checking :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
VDO is simply a brand of quality gauges. They make a wide range of auto gauges to display just about anything you would want, but they are not intended to be bolt in replacements fitting as the factory gauge did.
 

·
Returning American Maddman
Joined
·
444 Posts
Walk you through it? Dern, how big of a car you got?
Hey, carpet and seats are last, I know that! Especially if you smoke!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
sorry I took so long to respond. I cant find a speedo, I thought Ihad one, Sorry about that. Would like to know how you made out with the car. Post it on here And ill see it
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top