Hot Rod Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
465 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I do realize this is probably a stupid question, but here is it......

I'm no expert, I've done 3 other gear swaps. This one is kicking my butt.

I can not get the crush sleeve to crush by hand. (getting older and just had appendix surgery)
I had a 4' cheater bar and after hours of trying, I took out the crush sleeve and pressed it just a hair in my press. I'm still not to the point of taking the play out of the pinion. I want to keep taking the sleeve out and crushing it (out of spite!) in my press till I can take the free-play out and then try and get it to pre-load specs.
I talked to Yukon gear tech and was told it takes about 1000 to 1200 lbs of torque to crush the sleeve.

Is this an acceptable way to do this? Axle is a 2008 Jeep Rubicon, front Dana 44.

Thanks.

·
Registered
465 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have 2 other new sleeves, so having to start over isn't a big deal. Now that I've slept on it, it's seeming like a viable option. And I figure there's a very good chance I'll over-crush on the first try.
I'm waiting on a yoke holding tool. I bent my other, home-made one. Surprising that one held up for 2 Ford 8.8's and a Dana 30, but bent like nothing for a Dana 44.

Thanks.

·
Registered
465 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So, it's looking like I'm not completely off the mark here. I'll keep trying today and see how it turns out. I have to wait for the holding tool for the final torque anyway and that'll be another week.

"The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem."

^ That's why this is my favorite site, a lot of people here have the right attitude!

Thanks again.

·
Old(s) Fart
6,014 Posts
When I used to race 12 bolts, the trick was to take the old sleeve put it over a piece of tubing and hammer it out a bit. I never put a new one in and never had a problem with the rear. :cool: